Colfax-Mingo finishes second, Newton seventh at Saydel Girls Invitational

Dec. 15—DES MOINES — Colfax-Mingo and Newton combined for 13 top-two finishes at the Saydel Girls Invitational on Monday.

The Tigerhawks entered 13 wrestlers in the round-robin tournament and ended up second after claiming four wins and a trio of runner-up finishes.

The Cardinals had 11 wrestlers in the field and placed seventh after registering three wins and four second-place finishes.

Elizabeth Elliott and Lily Webster competed in the same bracket and finished 1-2, respectively, after Elliott downed Webster 8-6 in their second match of the day.

Elliott, a senior at Lynnville-Sully, was 3-0 with two pins, while Webster finished 2-1 with one pin and an 11-5 win by decision.

The Cardinals' other bracket champions included Claire Breuer and Abby Chance.

The Tigerhawks got wins from Devan Chadwick, Amelia Strickland, Joslyn Dawson and Emma Cook. Olivia Rausch won a junior varsity bracket, too.

Southeast Polk won the tournament with 185 points. The Rams had a tourney-high 18 wrestlers in the field.

Colfax-Mingo (115) edged Perry (113) for second, while Des Moines Public Schools (100) and Raccoon River-Northwest (99) completed the top five.

The next five in the 17-team field were Ankeny (96), Newton (89), Ames (69), Aplington-Parkersburg/Grundy Center (62) and Dallas Center-Grimes (42).

Breuer won her bracket with a 3-0 day. She registered a 56-second pin, a 15-0 technical fall and a win by injury default.

Chance also was 3-0 and she won twice by fall and once by a 14-9 decision. One of her pins came in 30 seconds.

Chadwick, Strickland, Dawson and Cook went a combined 10-0 with nine pins. Strickland and Chadwick both were 3-0 and Dawson and Cook finished 2-0. Cook had a two-person bracket.

Chawick's run to the bracket title included a win by fall over Newton's Lily Monjeau, who was 0-3 for the day.

Chadwick registered three pins in a combined 38 seconds. Strickland registered a 19-second and a 25-second pin.

Newton's Brilea Moffitt and C-M's Lily Brenner battled in the same bracket with Moffitt finishing second and Brenner placing third. Both wrestlers were 2-1, but Moffitt pinned Brenner in their head-to-head matchup.

Newton's Ashlyn Van Manen and Colfax-Mingo's Kaydence Andersen competed in the same bracket, too. Van Manen finished second with a 1-1 day and Anderson was 0-2. Van Manen's win was a pin over Andersen.

Newton's Jessie Hutchinson finished second in her bracket. Her lone loss came against Southeast Polk's Bella Porcelli. Hutchinson won twice by fall and lost to Porcelli by pin midway through the third period.

Porcelli is the only wrestler to defeat Hutchinson this season.

The Cardinals' other runner-up finish came from Stella Cupples. She was 2-1 in her bracket with two pins.

C-M's Lily Arndt was second in her bracket, too. She was 1-1 on the day with a 23-second pin.

Newton's Brianna Aebischer finished third and Emma Lopez-Garcia and Grace Guy both were fourth in their brackets. Aebischer's lone win came by pin.

Cadence Linn, Shy Steck, Lillie Jones and Eva Anderson all were third for the Tigerhawks. Linn, Steck and Jones each were 1-2 with one pin each.

Rausch competed in a JV bracket and went 2-0 with two first-period pins.