CCBOE recognizes Good Hope High School girls basketball for first state title win

Mar. 27—The Cullman County Board of Education highlighted the two newest additions to the district long list of state championship titles earlier this month including the historic season from the Good Hope High School girls basketball team.

The top-ranked Lady Raiders recently brought home the program's first state title with it's 63-35 win over T.R. Miller, closing out its 33 win season.

"It's special to go out with a state championship," Good Hope senior Ivey Maddox told The Times just after securing the victory. "But what really got me was just seeing all the people in our community, our fans, our students, my teammates — this is more than just basketball for me. The bonds we share ... we treat each other like family. I'm so grateful to have spent all the time I have with these girls and these coaches."

During its meeting on Thursday, March 14, CCBOE Superintendent Shane Barnette said future classes might have a difficult time living up to the precedent set by Maddox and her cohort.

"I just want to say congratulations. Y'all have been fun to watch," Barnette said. "Especially you seniors, you've set the bar really high for next year's group. They're going to have to start working now for a repeat."

The Cold Springs High School Cross Country team was also recognized for its state championship title it received in the fall.

In other business the board:

* Awarded the E5 Exceptional Award to the following: Connie Hill — Cold Springs Elementary School volunteer; Christi Hambry — West Point Middle School bookkeeper; Jeri Beasley — Good Hope Middle School aide; Jamie Johnson — Vinemont Elementary School teacher.

* Accepted the following resignations: Karen Henderson — Cold Springs Elementary teacher; Alicia Powe — Good Hope High School Child Nutrition Program worker; Beverly Whitlock — Good Hope High School teacher; Raymond Briscoe — Good Hope Middle School teacher; Stephanie Hood — Good Hope Middle School library media specialist; Debra Howard — Holly Pond Child Nutrition Program worker; Theresa Benefield — Holly Pond Elementary aide; Sherry Edmondson — Holly Pond Elementary teacher; Donna Sellers — Holly Pond Elementary teacher; Keith Kugler — Vinemont Elementary teacher; Robert Cogle — Vinemont Middle School teacher; Douglas Webb — Vinemont Middle School teacher; Amber Thornton — West Point Elementary teacher; Sonia Eady — West Point Intermediate School bookkeeper; Cynthia Thompson — West Point Intermediate School teacher.

* Approved the voluntary transfer of behavior support assistant Taylor Ham from Hanceville High School to Cold Springs High School.

* Approved the following substitute teachers: Brian McKienney; Rodney Hays; Rebecca Bell; Robert Amuso; Octavia Barnett; Tabitha Blaut; Paula Boggan; Velma Calvert; Bryson Fletcher; Candace Garner; Ansley Gregis; Haley Harris; Carol Herren; Ryleigh Jones; Krista Livengood; Gracie McCombs; Elana McParlin; Emily Riddle; Wilma Shedd; Wendy Sinyard; Amillia Tucker; Brittany Wasilewski; Lucille White; Tameki Whitfield; Leslie Williams; Mattie Wood; Jadyn Woodard; Taylor Yeager.

* Altered the contract of Vinemont High School Secretary Mandalyn Preiss from 207 days to 240 days.

* Added a Good Hope High School girls golf supplement to the contract with Andrew Adams.

* Added a non-facultyHolly Pond High School softball assistant supplement to the contract with Taylor Oslin.

* Added a non- faculty Holly Pond High School JV softball assistant supplement to the contract with Emma Ray Spitzer.

* Approved the following non-faculty coaches: Rilee Henderson — Cold Springs Middle School softball; Malcolm Carter — Fairview High School JV baseball; Taylor Oslin — Holly Pond High School softball assistant; Emma Ray Spitzer — Holly Pond High School assistant and JV coach; Dexter Wood — Vinemont High School baseball; Brad Drummond — West Point High School football; Kanaan Sutter — West Point Middle School baseball.

* Approved the request from Cold Springs High School to pay Kinley Nunn $1,000 for assisting with the varsity girls basketball team.

* Approved the request from Fairview Middle School to pay Lakrisha Hailey $600 for assisting with the middle school volleyball team.

* Approved the request from Good Hope High School to pay Shelba Edge $25 for working the gate at each varsity home baseball and softball game.

* Approved the request from Hanceville Middle School to pay Madalyn Brown and Madison Ballard $25 for each HVM cheer tryout.

* Approved the following schools and personnel to offer Summer Driver's Education: Good Hope High School — Mitchell Witcher; Holly Pond High School — James Neal; Vinemont High School — Jason Teichmiller; West Point High School — Don Farley.

* Approved the out-of-state field trip request to allow the West Point High School Scholars' Bowl team to compete in the NAQT tournament in Atlanta, Ga. on May 24 and the national championship in Reston, Va. on June 5.

* Approved a request from the Cullman Area Chamber of Commerce to use a school bus to transport Cullman Youth Leadership students to Montgomery, Ala. on April 10.

* Approved a request from the Cullman County Extension Office to use a school bus to transport 4-H students to Columbiana, Ala. for Summer 4H Camp from June 26 — June 28.

* Approved a request from the Transportation Department to provide transportation for "the friends of FCA" during the week of July 8 -12.