Braden Holtby was not happy about Sidney Crosby's hit

J.J. Regan
NBC Sports Washington

Braden Holtby took a hit from Sidney Crosby in the first period of Wednesday's game between the Caps and Pittsburgh Penguins that sent the netminder to the ice.

The referees determined it was not a penalty. You know who disagrees with that? Holtby.

"It's a penalty," Holtby told reporters after the game. "There's no other way to put it. Goalie's playing the puck, look the other way, guy puts his shoulder into my chin. It's the way it is."

RELATED: A BIG NIGHT FOR DJOOS, BUT A LOSS FOR THE CAPS

You can see the hit in the video player above.

For what it's worth, there is an argument to be made that the play was actually legal. I actually tried to make that argument. While I believe it was ultimately legal, I am still surprised no call was made. Referees tend to be extra sensitive when it comes to hits on goalies.

In this case, however, they let it go and it was a costly call as the Penguins were on the power play and ended up scoring on it. In what was ultimately a one-goal loss for the Caps, a penalty on Crosby would have negated that power play.

But the call did not go Holtby's way and neither did the game.

"That's something you just have to fight through," Holtby said. "When that stuff happens you just have to control your emotions and focus on the game, trust the refs to call the penalties. But that's a dangerous play. When that happens it's just unfortunate."

MORE CAPITALS: WATCH DJOOS' FIRST CAREER GOAL

What to Read Next