Boys basketball all-conference roundup: Canistota, Howard lead Cornbelt picks

Apr. 2—MITCHELL — Boys basketball honor teams from several conferences have been announced featuring players from many area schools.

Below is a listing of area selections:

In the Cornbelt Conference, Canistota and state champion Howard led the way on the league's all-conference boys basketball team.

Tage Ortman, the senior guard for Canistota, was named the conference's MVP. He was joined by Howard's Luke Koepsell, Hanson's Jayce Slaba, Bridgewater-Emery's Ben Weber and Viborg-Hurley's Nick Hanson on the all-Cornbelt first team.

On the second team, Canistota's Brandon Kjetland and Brady Scott were selected, along with Howard's Kolt Koepsell, while Freeman's Tate Sorensen and Viborg-Hurley's Brady Schroedermeier were picked as well.

The third team included Bridgewater-Emery's Camdyn Stoterau, Howard's Colby Claussen, Freeman's Rocky Ammann, Irene-Wakonda's Jens Hansen and Viborg-Hurley's Nolan Kolthoff.

Wessington Springs had four selections to the top-three teams in the 281 Conference's list of all-conference honorees.

Sophomore Parker Graff was selected to the all-281 first team, while Ryder Michalek and Blake Larson were selected to the second team to represent the Spartans. Brock Krueger was a third-team pick for Wessington Springs and Colby Flowers was an honorable mention player.

The remainder of the first team included Wolsey-Wessington's Tate French and Moshe Richmond, Highmore-Harrold's Trake Cowan and Sanborn Central/Woonsocket's Jeff Boschee.

In addition to Boschee, SCW's Cody Slykhuis was an all-281 third team selection and Bryce Larson was an honorable mention.

Two standouts from Gregory and Winner led the all-Southeast South Dakota Conference's boys first team selections.

The first team included Gregory's Daniel Mitchell and Noah Bearshield, Winner's Aiden Barfuss and Shawn Hammerbeck and Parkston's Will Jodozi. The second team included Chamberlain's Dakota Munger, Mount Vernon/Plankinton's Zach Baker, Parkston's Luke Bormann, Platte-Geddes' Parker Bailey and Wagner's Carter Cournoyer.

Members of the third team included Gregory's Cruz Klundt, Bon Homme's Chapin Cooper, Platte-Geddes' Tanner Dyk and Wagner's Preston McFayden and Parker Petry.

In the Little Missouri Valley Conference, Wagner and Tripp-Delmont/Armour each led the way with four selections each.

Wagner's selections included Parker Petry, Joey Cournoyer Jr., Carter Cournoyer and Preston McFayden, while TDA landed Isaac Wunder, Riley Spaans, Mason Reiner and Payton Westendorf. Bon Homme's Landon Bares, Chapin Cooper and Easton Mudder were also all-conference selections.

Scotland had Parker Hochstein and Kory Keppen on the all-conference team, while Avon's Landon Thury and Aziah Meyer were selected and Andes Central/Dakota Christian were represented by Peter Backes and Hunter Loeffler.

Tripp-Delmont/Armour and Marty shared the Great Plains Conference lead for most all-league selections with three each.

The Nighthawks had Mason Reiner, Isaac Wunder and Riley Spaans earning all-conference selections, while Marty had Terrill Rave, Tate Elk Soldier and Greg Zephier. Corsica-Stickney had Tyson Wentland and Carter Wright, while Andes Central/Dakota Christian was represented by Hunter Loeffler and Peter Backes.

Other all-conference selections included Reed Benter and Sam Steele (Burke), Karter Weber and Jackson Donlan (Freeman Academy/Marion), Landon Thury and Aziah Meyer (Avon), Joseph Laprath (Colome), Parker Hochstein (Scotland)

Winner placed two players on the Big Dakota Conference boys basketball honor squad. The Warriors' Shawn Hammerbeck and Aiden Barfuss were all-conference selections, while Carter Craven was an honorable mention.

Chamberlain was represented by Dakota Munger on the all-conference team for the Cubs.