Melvin reacts to controversial call at plate in Game 1 loss originally appeared on NBC Sports Bayarea
With the short left field wall at Minute Maid Park, trying to score from first base on a ball hit into the corner is a big gamble.
With the A's trailing 3-0 in the top of the second inning, Canha walked with two outs. The next batter, Ramn Laureano, drove a ball into the left field corner and Canha got on his horse and tried to score.
Left fielder Michael Brantley and shortstop Carlos Correa executed a perfect relay, and the ball beat Canha to the plate. But it appears that Canha might have touched home plate before catcher Martin Maldonado could apply the tag.
Home plate umpire Lance Barrett called Canha out and the A's challenged the call. After review, the call stood, the inning was over and the A's still trailed 3-0.
After the A's lost 4-2, manager Bob Melvin was asked about the play.
"I can't even go into the video room afterward. It looked like he got his foot in on the replay out there, but I really don't know," Melvin told reporters on a Zoom conference call.
Before a reporter could ask the next question, Melvin asked the media what they saw. When a reporter said Canha looked safe, Melvin had a simple response.
"There you go," Melvin said.
RELATED: How La Stella impacts Kemp, Pinder
It was a costly loss for the A's, who saw their lead in the AL West shrink to 3.5 games. New acquisition Tommy La Stella gets the start at second base in Game 2 of the doubleheader and will look to provide a boost to the A's lineup.