All the goals nominated for the 2012 FIFA Puskás Award in one handy video

Dirty Tackle

This January, the world's football elite convene in Zurich to decide whether Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi deserve the Ballon d'Or. Since flying to Switzerland and putting on uncomfortable formal evening wear for the presentation of a single award is a lot of effort, FIFA also hands out several other gongs at the glitzy event, including the Puskás Award.

Named in honor of legendary Hungarian Ferenc Puskás, the accolade is given to what is deemed to be the "most beautiful" goal of the calendar year. In 2011, the award was picked up by Neymar for the stupendous goal that couldn't stop Santos losing to Flamengo, while in 2010 Turkey's Hamit Altintop took home the prize for this outrageous volley.

DT's opinion has absolutely no bearing on the outcome, but we think this year's prize is a dead heat between Falcao's sublime scissor kick against América de Cali and Neymar's mockery of the Internacional defense.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, meanwhile, will be roundhouse kicking his punchbag with Pep Guardiola's face painted on it extra hard tonight, as his brilliant goal against England was scored too late for nomination.

Check out the list of nominees below:

Agyemang Badu (Ghana - Guinea, 1 February 2012)
Hatem Ben Arfa (Newcastle United - Blackburn Rovers, 7 January 2012)
Radamel Falcao (América de Cali - Atletico Madrid, 19 May 2012)
Eric Hassli (Vancouver Whitecaps - Toronto FC, 16 May 2012)
Olivia Jimenez (Mexico - Switzerland, 22 August 2012)
Gastón Mealla (Nacional Potosí - The Strongest, 29 January 2012)
Lionel Messi (Brazil - Argentina, 9 June 2012)
Neymar (Santos - Internacional, 7 March 2012)
Moussa Sow (Fenerbahce - Galatasaray , 17 March 2012)
Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahçe - Gençlerbirliği, 3 March 2012)

What to Read Next