Nadine Angerer becomes first goalkeeper to win Women’s World Player of the Year award

Brooks Peck
Dirty Tackle

Germany completed a sweep of the women's awards at the FIFA Ballon d'Or ceremony, with Sylvia Neid winning World Coach of the Year and captain Nadine Angerer winning the World Player of the Year honor. Angerer beat out previous winners Marta and Abby Wambach to her award, but what makes it even more special is the fact that she is the first goalkeeper to win it. No goalkeeper has ever won the Ballon d'Or/men's World Player of the Year award either.

Angerer also won the 2013 UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe award after helping Germany to the Euro 2013 title by conceding just one goal in the entire tournament.

It's clear that awards voters have long made a habit of forgetting the contributions of goalkeepers, but when you allow just one goal in six matches at a European Championship, you become hard to forget.

What to Read Next