DTotD: Indonesian referee punched in the face after awarding penalty

Dirty Tackle

Pelita Bandung Raya earned a 2-1 home victory over Persiwa Wamena in the Indonesian Premier League on Sunday, but the winning goal came courtesy of a pretty controversial penalty.

When brilliantly named Persiwa defender O.K. John put in a two-footed lunge in the box in the 80th minute, referee Wasit Muhaimin immediately pointed to the spot. Persiwa players fiercely protested the decision on the grounds that he won the ball, perhaps forgetting that a two-footed tackle from behind with both feet in the air is a pretty dangerous thing to do. Regardless, Persiwa's number ten Pieter Rumaropen was so angry with the decision that he laid a left hook on the official.

Scroll to continue with content

[Also: Nike pulls 'Boston Massacre' shirts from its shelves]

The game was held up for ten minutes as blood poured down the referee's shirt and Rumaropen was given his marching orders.

The incident wasn't quite as disgraceful as, say, biting an opponent, but a sucker punch from behind a referee's back is pretty cowardly and worthy of a lengthy ban.

This has been the Dirty Tackle of the Day: a chronicling of unfortunate events.

H/T: 101GG

Dream Chasers from Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular content on Yahoo! Sports:
Warriors' David Lee tears hip flexor, out for playoffs
Matt Barkley regrets taking passive approach at USC
NBA postgame fashion showdown: Westbrook vs. LeBron
Ravens LB Rolando McClain arrested in Alabama

What to Read Next