DTotD: Ethiopia keeper shown red card while being carried off on stretcher

Brooks Peck
Dirty Tackle

Ethiopia goalkeeper Jemal Tassew found out just how swift and severe karmic retribution for a nasty challenge can be in his side's Africa Cup of Nations match against defending champions Zambia. In the 35th minute, with the score still 0-0, Tassew came charging out of the box in an attempt to head off a one-v-one chance for Zambia's Chisamba Lungu.

Tassew delivered a vicious high boot to Lungu's midsection, sending both players to ground in pain. At first it seemed clear that Lungu got the worst of the collision, but the slow motion replays show that Tassew's leg bent oddly upon making contact. Chisamba ended up being fine and finished out the match, but Tassew had to be taken off on a stretcher with the leg injury and as he was, the referee showed him a red card he had been patiently holding behind his back for a good three and a half minutes.

Obviously Tassew was not in a position to protest the decision.

This has been the Dirty Tackle of the Day: a chronicling of unfortunate events.

What to Read Next