Bayern Munich win DFB Pokal, become first German club to complete the treble

Brooks Peck
Dirty Tackle

Bayern Munich beat Stuttgart 3-2 to win the DFB Pokal and become the first German club to win the treble.

A week after Bayern beat Borussia Dortmund in the Champions League final at Wembley, they built up a 3-0 lead in the DFB Pokal final, only for Stuttgart to score twice in nine minutes. Bayern held them off over the final 10 minutes of the match with Thomas Muller's penalty and a Mario Gomez's brace (press button twice) proving to be enough to win the cup for a record 15th time.

Here's the updated list of UEFA clubs that have won the treble (domestic league, domestic cup, European cup):

Bayern Munich (Germany) 2012/13
Inter (Italy) 2009/10
Barcelona (Spain) 2008/09
Manchester United (England) 1998/99
PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands) 1987/88
Ajax (Netherlands) 1971/72
Celtic (Scotland) 1966/67

So manager Jupp Heynckes ends his time at Bayern with a third trophy, which he pretended to drink out of before getting drenched in beer by his players. Jose Mourinho left Inter, the last club to win the treble, immediately after achieving the feat and they have slipped further down the table each year since. Of course, replacing Heynckes at Bayern is another treble winner, Pep Guardiola, who will have a team that could be even stronger than this one (shiver) with summer additions like Mario Gotze.

Still, the bar has been set insanely high. And Jupp Heynckes is guzzling the imaginary nectar of his success. Your move, Pep.

What to Read Next