Andres Iniesta celebrates 5th anniversary of Chelsea goal by failing to recreate it

Dirty Tackle

Tuesday represents the fifth anniversary of Barcelona's visit to Chelsea for their fabled Champions League semi-final second leg.

Chelsea fans will mourn the day for the heresy of referee Tom Henning Ovrebo, who turned down four decent penalty claims and prompted Dider Drogba to broadcast his sweary opinion to the world (NSFW link). Barcelona supporters, on the other hand, remember the game for Andres Iniesta's epic 94th-minute equalizer that put the Catalan giants through to the Final on away goals.

Five years on from that heated evening, Barca TV asked Iniesta to recreate his famous goal, because why the heck not.

The midfielder is fed a similar ball across the top of the box to the one Messi passed him that night at Stamford Bridge, and all he has to do is blast it into the top corner of an empty net.

Except that he doesn't.

The man who scored the winner in a World Cup final misses the open goal, in a reasonably unconvincing attempt to convey the fact that his original strike was truly "unique."

Maybe if Iniesta had seven Chelsea players standing in front of him and some exceptionally fortuitous refereeing, his recreation would have been more successful.


- - - - - - -

Ryan Bailey is a writer for Dirty Tackle on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next