How Jonathan Huberdeau won the Calder Trophy

The official definition of the Calder Memorial Trophy states the award goes "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League," as awarded by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers was chosen as this year's winner. He beat out Brendan Gallagher of the Montreal Canadiens and Brandon Saad of the Chicago Blackhawks.

From the NHL:

Selected third overall by the Panthers in the 2011 NHL Draft, Huberdeau played in all 48 games for Florida and ranked second both on the team and among NHL rookies with 31 points (14-17—31). Among first-year players, he finished third in goals, fourth in assists and third in shots on goal (112). His 16:55 average time on ice also led rookie forwards, while his nine power-play points (2-7—9) placed fourth among all freshmen skaters. Huberdeau set two franchise records, becoming the first Panther to score on two penalty shots in one season (Feb. 21 at Philadelphia and March 5 vs. Carolina) and recording the most points by a teenager in team history (four more than Radek Dvorak in 1995-96).

Here's the voting breakdown:

There was a big outcry when Minnesota Wild defenseman Jonas Brodin was not named one of the three finalists. As we see, he missed the cut by 100 points, and was a clear fourth ahead of Nail Yakupov of the Edmonton Oilers.

Follow Sean Leahy on Twitter at @Sean_Leahy