Steven Stamkos is no stranger to baseball. Having grown up playing the game and even getting in a beer league game or two once his NHL career began, the Tampa Bay Lightning captain's hand-eye coordination is really good.
Even choking up just before the swing? That's a pro right there.
After a review, here was the decision by the NHL Situation Room:
At 5:44 of the third period in the Ottawa Senators/Tampa Bay Lightning game, video review supported the referee's group decision on the ice that Steven Stamkos' stick was below the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Ottawa net. Initially, the referee closest to the net had waved off the goal, but after consultation with the other officials it was determined that Stamkos' stick was in fact below the level of the crossbar. Video review supported that group decision. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Tampa Bay.
This isn't anything new for Stamkos, if you'll recall his amazing batted in goal from 2009.
Stamkos's dad told the Toronto Star in 2011: “Steven was smaller when he was young. Although he was good in hockey, I did think he had more natural instincts in baseball ... But then he grew, and he got more serious with hockey.”
Lucky for us he stuck with puck.
- - - - - - -