How Ray Shero won GM of the Year (and Scott Howson got 2 votes)

Sean Leahy

Pittsburgh Penguins general manager Ray Shero was voted as the NHL's 2013 GM of the Year by his fellow managers, which was announced Friday night.

Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens and Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks were the other nominees. Shero is the first Eastern Conference GM to win the award in its four year history.

From the NHL, on Shero:

Shero made key additions to an already-strong roster throughout the year that helped propel the Penguins (36-12-0) to a playoff berth for the seventh consecutive season, their first Atlantic Division title since 2008 and the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference. He obtained C Brandon Sutter and G Tomas Vokoun in offseason trades and later brought RW Jarome Iginla, LW Brenden Morrow, C Jussi Jokinen and D Douglas Murray to Pittsburgh in deals leading up to the trade deadline. Pittsburgh reeled off 15 consecutive victories from March 2-30, the second-longest winning streak in NHL history and the League’s longest winning streak in 20 years.

Here's how the voting broke down:

No, that's not a misprint at No. 11; fired Columbus Blue Jackets GM Scott Howson did receive two third place votes despite having been let go and joining the Edmonton Oilers in February.

And Colorado's Greg Sherman getting a third place vote? Was it from Jay Feaster for matching the Ryan O'Reilly offer sheet, thereby preventing any further embarrassment, what with the whole waivers things?

Follow Sean Leahy on Twitter at @Sean_Leahy