The Florida Panthers seemed somewhat upset with the Pittsburgh Penguins overtime game-winning goal.
Below is the score in which the puck flips over the blueline on the winning goal rush. It seems to be somewhat unclear as to whether Sidney Crosby – who had his first three points of the year – stays onside while the puck flies into the Florida zone.
Said Panthers coach Gerard Gallant via the Miami Herald:
“It was a real close offside,” said Gallant, who was steamed at the officials in the third period. "The puck went really high in the air and it was probably inconclusive. But we had nothing to lose at that point. I think it was an OK goal.”
After a brief review, the official confirmed the call on the ice, which was a goal.
Here is the NHL’s explanation.
At 1:21 of overtime in the Florida Panthers/Pittsburgh Penguins game, Florida requested a Coach's Challenge. However, Rule 78.8 explains that "in the final minute of play in the 3rd period and at any point in Overtime (Regular Season and Playoffs), Hockey Operations will initiate the review of any scenario that would otherwise be subject to a Coach’s Challenge." Hockey Operations had previously confirmed that the Penguins entered the zone legally prior to Evgeni Malkin's goal. The call on the ice stands - good goal Pittsburgh Penguins.
Offsides goals are a new wrinkle as far as reviewable plays this year. As the video indicates, it’s hard to tell whether the Penguins were indeed offsides because of the puck's trajectory, so you have to go with the call on the ice.
- - - - - - -
MORE FROM YAHOO HOCKEY