NHL Awards Watch: Can anyone take MVP honors away from Sidney Crosby?

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

(Ed. Note: This is a weekly feature on Puck Daddy in which we vote on the major NHL Awards. “We” being Wyshynski, Leahy, Mooney, Yahoo! NHL editor Sam McCaig and Yahoo! NHL scribe Nick Cotsonika. Voting is completed Monday night. The results will run every Tuesday on this very blog. Enjoy.)

Through 33 games, Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins has a points-per-game average of 1.61.

This would be pretty amazing were it not for the fact that it’s basically what Sidney Crosby does: He hit 1.61 points per game in 41 appearances in 2010-11 and was up to 1.68 points per game in 22 games last season.

But is he the most valuable player to his team in the 2012-13 NHL season?

That’s one of the questions the Puck Daddy Awards Watch panel addressed this week, as Crosby battles Patrick Kane, Ryan Getzlaf and others for the Hart Trophy? Is Sid the clear-cut favorite? Can anyone catch him?

Coming up, the leaders for the major NHL awards …

A note on the voting: All four panelists ranked the top five for each award, and point values were assigned to each player. Ties were broken by how high a player was ranked on the majority of ballots.

Hart Trophy

1. Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins (25)
2. Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks (19)
3. Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks (11)
4. Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes (9)
5. Steve Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning (7)

Crosby has 53 points, a good 12 ahead of Stamkos and his Penguins teammate Chris Kunitz for the NHL lead. Kane continues to be the heart and soul of the Blackhawks with 17 goals. Getzlaf has 37 points in 32 games, while Stamkos continues to lead the NHL with 22 goals. Also getting support: Jonathan Toews, Nazem Kadri and Sergei Bobrovsky.

Norris Trophy

1. Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild (21)
2. Kris Letang, Pittsburgh Penguins (19)

3. Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Phoenix Coyotes (12)
4. Francois Beauchemin, Anaheim Ducks (8)
5. P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens (7)

[Also: Mr. T scores from center ice during Chicago Blackhawks game]

Suter is two points behind Letang (28 points) for the NHL lead, skating an incredible 27:11 per night. OEL has 19 points and is a plus-8, while Subban has 22 points in 25 games. Beauchemin continues to be the defensive defenseman choice for purists.

Vezina Trophy

1. Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins (18)
2. Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens (13)

3. Corey Crawford, Chicago Blackhawks (12)
4. Craig Anderson, Ottawa Senators (8)
5. Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets (7)

The Vezina remains the most unpredictable award of the lot. Rask has the lead, but a recent bump in his season might affect that. Price has been a steady workhorse. Anderson has missed significant time, but remains the best goalie of the season. Crawford and Bobrovsky have been critical to their teams’ respective success. Also receiving a push: Niklas Backstrom of the Wild and Pekka Rinne of the Predators.

Calder Trophy

1. Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers (22)
2. Cory Conacher, Tampa Bay Lightning (19)
3. Brendan Gallagher, Montreal Canadiens (15)
4. Jonas Brodin, Minnesota Wild (5)
5. Jake Allen, St. Louis Blues (4)

Huberdeau and Conacher continue to lead the pack, as the NHL’s rookie goals and points leaders, respectively. Gallagher’s had arguably the best all-around season of any rookie. Brodin leads Justin Schultz and Jake Muzzin for rookie defenseman honors, while Allen is the clear choice between the pipes.

Jack Adams Award

1. Joel Quenneville, Chicago Blackhawks (24)
2. Bruce Boudreau, Anaheim Ducks (16)
3. Michel Therrien, Montreal Canadiens (15)
4. Paul MacLean, Ottawa Senators (13)

5. Dan Bylsma, Pittsburgh Penguins (3)

Coach Q and Big Bruce continue to finish first and second in this race, as their teams are first and second in the West. Therrien’s Habs have him in the hunt, while MacLean has worked miracles with the Sens. Bylsma just snuck in ahead of Mike Babcock, Randy Carlyle and Mike Yeo.

NHL video from Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular content on Yahoo! Sports:
Pat Forde: Breaking down the Sweet 16
Watch: Midwest Region Sweet 16 keys
Lakers' Metta World Peace has lateral meniscus tear in his knee
Denny Hamlin out at least five races because of back injury