NHL Awards odds: Sidney Crosby, Steven Stamkos among favorites for 2014-15 trophies

NHL Awards odds: Sidney Crosby, Steven Stamkos among favorites for 2014-15 trophies

If Bovada’s betting odds for the 2014-15 NHL awards tell us anything, as long as he’s healthy, Sidney Crosby will be the favorite for every major award he’s able to win forever.

The Pittsburgh Penguins captain is Bovada’s favorite for both the Hart and Art Ross Trophies. They love Sid so much for the points title that “The Kid” is even money.

Other than Sid, what kind of odds does Bovada give to the rest of the NHL’s elite?

Hart Memorial Trophy                

Sidney Crosby (PIT)                  7/4       
Ryan Getzlaf (ANA)                   6/1      
Steven Stamkos (TB)                 6/1       
John Tavares (NYI)                    8/1       
Alex Ovechkin (WAS)                12/1     
Claude Giroux (PHI)                   15/1     
Tyler Seguin (DAL)                    15/1     
Evgeni Malkin (PIT)                    15/1     
Jonathan Toews (CHI)                16/1     
Anze Kopitar (LA)                      18/1     
Corey Perry (ANA)                     20/1     
Patrick Kane (CHI)                     20/1     
Jamie Benn (DAL)                     35/1     
Tuukka Rask (BOS)                   35/1    
Henrik Lundqvist (NYR)              40/1     
Johnathan Quick (LA)                50/1     
Carey Price (MON)                     50/1     
Erik Karlsson (OTT)                   50/1     
Nathan MacKinnon (COL)           50/1  

Considering six of the last eight winners have come from the Eastern Conference, and games out west end well past the bedtimes of many eastern writers, Getzlaf, Toews, Seguin, Kopitar may get the shaft here. Looking for a darkhorse? If you take East Coast Bias out of it, Benn at 35/1 is awfully tasty considering how much love Dallas has received over the summer.

Art Ross Trophy

Sidney Crosby (PIT)                  1/1       
Steven Stamkos (TB)                 3/1       
Alex Ovechkin (WAS)                17/2     
John Tavares (NYI)                    10/1     
Evgeni Malkin (PIT)                    10/1     
Claude Giroux (PHI)                   15/1     
Tyler Seguin (DAL)                    20/1     
Ryan Getzlaf (ANA)                   20/1     
Pavel Datsyuk (DET)                 35/1     
Corey Perry (ANA)                     35/1     
Patrick Kane (CHI)                     35/1     
Phil Kessel (TOR)                      35/1     
Jonathan Toews (CHI)                35/1     
Joe Thornton (SJ)                      35/1     
Nicklas Backstrom (WAS)          50/1     
Jamie Benn (DAL)                     50/1     
Taylor Hall (EDM)                      50/1     
Joe Pavelski  (SJ)                     75/1     
Matt Duchene (COL)                  75/1     
Anze Kopitar (LA)                      75/1  

Crosby won the Art Ross with 104 points last season and there’s no reason to think he won’t challenge for the scoring title yet again. Getzlaf finished 17 points behind him in second last season. Seguin had a monster first season with the Stars. If he and Benn can mesh well with Ales Hemsky, maybe Seguin at 20/1 isn’t a bad long-shot.

[ Yahoo Sports Fantasy Hockey: It's time to join a league today! ]

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy             

Steven Stamkos (TB)                 2/1       
Alex Ovechkin (WAS)                3/1       
Corey Perry (ANA)                     9/2       
Sidney Crosby (PIT)                  7/1       
Tyler Seguin (DAL)                    12/1     
John Tavares (NYI)                    12/1     
Phil Kessel (TOR)                      15/1     
Evgeni Malkin (PIT)                    15/1     
Max Pacioretty (MON)               20/1     
Jamie Benn (DAL)                     25/1     
Joe Pavelski (SJ)                      25/1     
Zach Parise (MIN)                      25/1     
Patrick Sharp (CHI)                    25/1     
Alexander Semin (CAR)             50/1     
Ryan Johansen (CBJ)                50/1  

As long as they’re healthy, the Richard will be alternated between Stamkos and Ovechkin for at least the next decade.

James Norris Trophy                    

Erik Karlsson (OTT)                   4/1       
Shea Weber (NAS)                    11/2     
Zdeno Chara (BOS)                   11/2     
Duncan Keith (CHI)                    6/1       
P.K. Subban (MON)                   8/1       
Ryan Suter (MIN)                       9/1       
Ryan McDonagh (NYR)              9/1       
Drew Doughty (LA)                    9/1       
Alex Pietrangelo (STL)               14/1     
Kris Letang (PIT)                        14/1     
Victor Hedman (TB)                   20/1     
Marc-Edouard Vlasic (SJ)          20/1     
Oliver Ekman-Larsson (PHO)      25/1     
Niklas Kronwall (DET)                25/1     
Jay Bouwmeester (STL)             25/1  

Drew Doughty can’t get any love from the PHWA and apparently from the books, either. One of these years the voters will appreciate his game, and at 9/1, I’ll take that bet.

Vezina Trophy 

Tuukka Rask (BOS)                   3/1       
Henrik Lundqvist (NYR)              4/1       
Carey Price (MON)                     13/2     
Jonathan Quick (LA)                  8/1       
Semyon Varlamov (COL)           9/1       
Cory Schneider (NJ)                  10/1     
Ben Bishop (TB)                        12/1     
Pekka Rinne (NAS)                    12/1     
Ryan Miller (VAN)                      12/1     
Sergei Bobrovsky (CBJ)            15/1     
Corey Crawford (CHI)                 16/1     
Jaroslav Halak (NYI)                  20/1     
Kari Lehtonen (DAL)                  20/1     
Marc-Andre Fleury (PIT)             25/1     
Roberto Luongo (FLA)               25/1  

There hasn’t been a repeat winner of this award since Martin Brodeur in 2007 and 2008. There’s a lot of good goaltending in the NHL, which makes this award pretty open. Is this the year for Carey Price?

Calder Memorial Trophy 
Jonathan Drouin (TB)                 9/4       
John Gibson (ANA)                   5/2       
Evgeny Kuznetsov (WAS)          3/1       
Teuvo Teravainen (CHI)              13/2     
Aaron Ekblad (FLA)                   7/1       
Leon Draisaitl (EDM)                 7/1       
Sam Reinhart (BUF)                   15/2     
Sam Bennett (CAL)                    15/1  

Always a tough category to pick, what with not knowing which guys may not make it past the 9-game tryout. Everyone loves Drouin and the potential he could have alongside Stamkos, but a broken thumb has already knocked him out of the lineup for a month. Steve Mason is the only goalie to win the award since 2006, and you have to wonder how much of the net in Anaheim will be Gibson’s over Frederik Andersen. We also can’t forget about Teravainen, who has all of Chicago drooling.

Who do you like with these odds?

- - - - - - -

Sean Leahy is the associate editor for Puck Daddy on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!