In absurd call, Sabres granted penalty shot after Islanders’ Streit stumbles into goal (Video)

Here's a very rare occurrence: a penalty shot awarded during a play that features no scoring chance whatsoever.

With a minute and a half to go in Saturday night's game between the New York Islanders and the Buffalo Sabres, and with the Islanders leading 3-2, Sabres' winger Thomas Vanek took the puck behind the Islanders goal. Islanders' captain Mark Streit went after him, but caught an edge on his way below the goal line and ran into the post, knocking the net off.

And referee Eric Furlatt, who was standing, like, right there, somehow saw this honest mistake as an intentional dislodging of the goal and awarded the Sabres a penalty shot.

A video or other embedded content has been hidden. Click here to view it.

Thankfully, because there is some justice in the world, Vanek hit the post, and the Islanders would go on to win the game, 4-2. Amazingly, Furlatt didn't punish this honest mistake with a penalty shot for the Islanders.

Anyway. I just shared this so we could all be outraged together.

s/t to Kukla's Korner.

Follow Harrison Mooney on Twitter at @HarrisonMooney

What to Read Next