How Nathan MacKinnon won the 2014 Calder Trophy

DENVER, CO - APRIL 30: Nathan MacKinnon #29 of the Colorado Avalanche warms up prior to facing the Minnesota Wild in Game Seven of the First Round of the 2014 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs at Pepsi Center on April 30, 2014 in Denver, Colorado. (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)

Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche won the 2014 Calder Trophy, which goes "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League," as awarded by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. 

MacKinnon, who became the youngest player to ever win the Calder at 18 years old (born: 9/1/95), had 130 first-place votes in the 137 ballots cast. Forwards Ondrej Palat and Tyler Johnson of the Tampa Bay Lightning were the other finalists, with defenseman Torey Krug of the Boston Bruins fourth.

MacKinnon topped all first-year players in points (63), goals (24-tied), assists (39), power-play goals (8), game-winning goals (5-tied) and shots (241). The first overall pick in the 2013 NHL Draft tallied at least one point in 13 consecutive games from Jan. 25 to March 6 (5-13—18), breaking Wayne Gretzky’s NHL record for the longest single-season point streak by a player age 18 or younger (12 games).

The Cole Harbour, N.S., native is the second Avalanche player in the past three years to be voted the League's top rookie, following captain Gabriel Landeskog's Calder Trophy win in 2012.

Here’s the voting:


Our ballot is here.

Yes, I’m the reason Eddie Lack has a vote. You’re welcome, Vancouver.