How Carey Price won the 2015 Hart Trophy

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Greg Wyshynski
Montreal Canadiens' Carey Price poses on the red carpet before the NHL Awards show Wednesday, June 24, 2015, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/John Locher)
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

What a night for Carey Price

The Montreal Canadiens goalie swept the Hart Trophy for NHL MVP; the Vezina Trophy for the NHL’s top goalie; the Jennings Trophy for the giving up the fewest regular-season goals; and the Ted Lindsay Award as the Players Association’s player of the year at the 2015 NHL Awards at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

The Hart victory made Price the first goalie to win MVP honors since Jose Theodore did in in 2002, also a member of the Canadiens.

"It really gotta thank the organization for not giving up on me. I was a very young adult when I got here. I had a learning curve to go through. Fortunately they saw that I had the personality to get through it," Price said. "Obviously the fans stuck with me too. We had trying times together, but it's just been unbelievable the reception I've been getting."

As for the four-trophy haul: "For some reason everything just added up. Things go right, the team plays well."

From the NHL:

Price was a runaway winner, receiving 139 first-place votes from the 157 ballots cast for 1,498 points. Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin, named on 150 ballots including eight first-place tallies, finished second in voting with 888 points, followed by New York Islanders center John Tavares (739).

Price captured his first career William M. Jennings Trophy as well as the sixth in Canadiens history to backstop the club to its best regular season since 1988-89. He led the NHL in wins (44), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), becoming the first goaltender to pace the League in all three categories since Ed Belfour in 1990-91. In doing so, Price surpassed the franchise record for wins in one season (42), set by Jacques Plante in 1955-56 and equaled by Plante in 1961-62 and Ken Dryden in 1975-76.

Price become only the fourth goalie in NHL history to win both the Hart and the Vezina in the same season.

Here’s how the voting broke down:

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)
1. Carey Price, MTL 1498 (139-14-2-0-0)
2. Alex Ovechkin, WSH 888 (8-75-45-18-4)
3. John Tavares, NYI 739 (4-41-63-27-16)
4. Devan Dubnyk, MIN 410 (6-16-25-30-23)
5. Sidney Crosby, PIT 138 (0-2-3-25-34)
6. Ryan Getzlaf, ANA 124 (0-2-6-20-20)
7. Rick Nash, NYR 70 (0-1-4-9-16)
8. ýPekka Rinne, NSH 49 (0-2-4-4-3)
9. Erik Karlsson, OTT 32 (0-1-1-5-5)
10. Jonathan Toews, CHI 31 (0-1-3-2-3)
11. Steven Stamkos, TBL 29 (0-1-0-5-7)
12. Jamie Benn, DAL 23 (0-0-0-5-8)
13. Jiri Hudler, CGY 16 (0-1-0-3-0)
14. Vladimir Tarasenko, STL 14 (0-0-0-3-5)
15. Andrew Hammond, OTT 9 (0-0-0-1-6)
16. P.K. Subban, MTL 5 (0-0-1-0-0)
17. Drew Doughty, LAK 2 (0-0-0-0-2)
18. Dustin Byfuglien, WPG 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Marc-Andre Fleury, PIT 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Braden Holtby, WSH 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Zach Parise, MIN 1 (0-0-0-0-1)
Shea Weber, NSH 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Here’s my ballot:

1. Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

2. Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

3. Devan Dubnyk, Minnesota Wild

4. Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks

5. John Tavares, New York Islanders

I really felt like Dubnyk deserved more support than he was given by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, which apparently felt that one goalie was enough.