Dougie Hamilton takes NHL’s dumbest penalty of season (Video)

At 18:23 of the first period in Los Angeles on Thursday night, Boston Bruins defenseman Dougie Hamilton was whistled for tripping Kings center Anze Kopitar.

He would be whistled for another penalty just three seconds after that initial infraction expired, at 26 seconds of the second period. The official explanation was “interference,” but that could be because the NHL doesn’t have a formal penalty for “inconceivable brain fart.”

As Brad Marchand played the puck around the boards of the Boston zone near the end of their penalty kill, it traveled to center ice. That’s where Hamilton reached out with his stick to corral the puck … with both of his skates still firmly planted inside the penalty box.

Which is fairly illegal.

Whoops. His transition to offense was quickly scuttled by a return to the sin bin.

From NHL Rule 56.2:

A minor penalty shall be imposed on any identifiable player on the players’ bench or penalty bench who, by means of his stick or his body, interferes with the movements of the puck or any opponent on the ice during the progress of the play. In addition, should a player about to come onto the ice, play the puck while one or both skates are still on the players’ or penalty bench, a minor penalty for interference shall be assessed.

This time, the Kings made Hamilton pay, as Justin Williams scored on the power play to give them a 2-0 lead. Momentum on their side, the Kings went up 3-0 on an Alec Martinez goal 1:01 after that.

Hamilton helped get one back with an assist on Matt Fraser’s goal, but the Kings were well on their way to a 4-2 victory over Boston.

Hamilton, by the way, now has seven minor penalties in his last eight games. But only one of them occurred while he was actually still in the penalty box.

Someone needs to call Ryane Clowe for lessons on how to properly play the puck while you're off the ice.