David Leggio's dislodging of net leads to AHL rule change
David Leggio’s hijinx on Sunday may have surpassed the fame he received from his fantastic Pierre McGuire impression. The Bridgeport Sound Tigers goaltender went viral when he knocked his net off on purpose as Springfield was coming in on an 2-on-0 break.
The move was certainly odd, but also kind of brilliant. It was also something that Leggio had prepared for after conversations with referees. The Falcons were awarded a penalty shot, which Leggio saved, but the Sound Tigers would eventually fall 4-3.
Leggio’s had violated AHL Rule 63.5. But the next time he attempts to knock off his own net when facing an odd-man rush he’ll see a bigger punishment than just having to save a penalty shot.
According to Darren Dreger, and confirmed by the AHL, the rule has been tweaked so that goaltenders will now be given a game misconduct if they try and pull a Leggio. A penalty shot will still be awarded, with the team captain given the power to select any of the players on the ice to take it against the new goaltender.
It was only a matter of time before the AHL stepped in to make sure its goaltenders don't all now go Ultimate Warrior on their nets while facing an odd-man rush. It was a brilliant maneuver by Leggio, but alas, the final time we'll be seeing it happen in the AHL.
And in the end, Leggio went viral again and got his wish, as he told the Connecticut Post, "Maybe they'll change the rule. Name it after me, no big deal. I was just trying to make a play to help my team win."
- - - - - - -
Sean Leahy is the associate editor for Puck Daddy on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at firstname.lastname@example.org or follow him on Twitter! Follow @Sean_Leahy