Andrew Shaw's awesome header sadly isn't a goal (Video)

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Jen Neale
Andrew Shaw's awesome header sadly isn't a goal (Video)
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

After the Anaheim Ducks hit three posts through one and a half periods of overtime, Andrew Shaw thought he had won the game for the Chicago Blackhawks with one of the most awesome goals ever seen.

Yes, Shaw channeled his inner Lionel Messi and head-butted the puck in past Frederik Andersen. Win for the Blackhawks! Or so everyone thought...

(Especially Brian Engblom on the NBCSN broadcast who said there was no rule for head-butting a goal.)

The officials huddled and contacted the situation room. The result - NO GOAL.

According to rule 78.5 section (i):

Disallowed Goals – Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee and the appropriate announcement made by the Public Address Announcer for the following reasons:

(i) When the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.

Bummer. Not just for Chicago, but for highlight reels around the world.

"I didn’t really know. I mean, at that point you react in the moment and try to get it in," Shaw said after the game. "I think if anyone can ever pull that off it should still be a goal."

- - - - - - -

Jen Neale is an editor for Puck Daddy on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email her at puckdaddyblog@yahoo.com or follow her on Twitter!