Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 17 finalists for Class of 2013

Brian McIntyre
Shutdown Corner

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced the 15 modern-era finalists and two senior nominees who will be voted on by the Hall's Selection Committee for induction as part of the Class of 2013. The committee will conduct its final vote on Saturday, Feb. 2 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Among the 15 finalists are four first-year eligible players, defensive tackle Warren Sapp (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Oakland Raiders), defensive end Michael Strahan (New York Giants), left tackle Jonathan Ogden (Baltimore Ravens) and guard/tackle Larry Allen, who played for the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers. The two senior nominees for 2013 are defensive tackle Curley Culp (Kansas City Chiefs, Houston Oilers, Detroit Lions) and linebacker Dave Robinson (Green Bay Packers, Washington Redskins).

[More NFL: Washington D.C. radio station changes call letters to 'WRG3']

Here's the list of the Class of 2013 finalists in alphabetical order:

Larry Allen: 11-time Pro Bowl guard/tackle for the Dallas Cowboys (1994-2005) and San Francisco 49ers (2006-07) who was named a member of the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1990s and 2000s.

Jerome Bettis: Six-time Pro Bowl running back for the Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams (1993-95) and Pittsburgh Steelers (1996-2005). Ranked fifth all-time with 13,662 rushing yard at the time of his retirement.

Tim Brown: Nine-time Pro Bowl wide receiver/return specialist with the Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders (1988-2003) and Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2004). When Brown retired, he ranked second in NFL history with 14,934 receiving yards and was fifth all-time with 19,682 combined yards.

Cris Carter: Eight-time Pro Bowl wide receiver with the Philadelphia Eagles (1987-89), Minnesota Vikings (1990-2001) and Miami Dolphins (2002). Ranked second in receptions (1,101) and receiving touchdowns (130) at the time of his retirement.

Curley Culp: Six-time Pro Bowl defensive tackle with the Kansas City Chiefs (1968-74), Houston Oilers (1974-80) and Detroit Lions (1980-81).

Edward DeBartolo, Jr.: Owned the San Francisco 49ers from 1977-2000. During that time, the 49ers won 13 division titles, appeared in 10 NFC Championship games and became the first franchise to win five Super Bowls.

Kevin Greene: Five-time Pro Bowl linebacker/defensive end with the Los Angeles Rams (1985-92), Pittsburgh Steelers (1993-95), Carolina Panthers (1996, 1998-99) and San Francisco 49ers (1997). Totaled 160 sacks during his career, which was third-most in league history at the time of his retirement.

Charles Haley: Five-time Pro Bowl linebacker/defensive end with the San Francisco 49ers (1986-91, 1999), Dallas Cowboys (1992-96). Only player in NFL history to play on five Super Bowl winning teams. Finished his career with 100.5 sacks.

Art Modell: Owned the Cleveland Browns from 1961-95 and Baltimore Ravens from 1995-2011. NFL president from 1967-69, played key role in creation of Monday Night Football in 1970.

Jonathan Ogden: 11-time Pro Bowl left tackle for the Baltimore Ravens (1996-2007). Selected as part of the NFL All-Decade team of the 2000s.

Bill Parcells: Head coach of the New York Giants (1983-90), New England Patriots (1993-96), New York Jets (1997-99) and Dallas Cowboys (2003-06). Amassed a 172-130-1 record during the regular season and 11-8 in the post-season. Won two Super Bowls (XXI, XXV) with the Giants and was the first coach to lead four different organizations to the playoffs. NFL Coach of the Year in 1986 and 1994.

Andre Reed: Wide receiver for the Buffalo Bills (1985-99) and Washington Redskins (2000). Selected to seven consecutive Pro Bowls (1989-95) and was third all-time with 951 receptions at the time of his retirement. Remains the Bills' all-time leader with 941 receptions and 13,095 receiving yards.

Dave Robinson: Three-time Pro Bowl linebacker with the Green Bay Packers (1963-72) and Washington Redskins (1973-74). Key member of Packers team that won three NFL championships from 1965-67 and that won Super Bowl I and II. Finished his career with 27 interceptions and was named to the NFL All-Decade team of the 1970s.

Warren Sapp: Seven-time Pro Bowl defensive tackle with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (1995-2003) and Oakland Raiders (2004-07). Was named the 1999 NFL Defensive Player of the Year and was selected as part of the NFL All-Decade team of the 1990s and 2000s. Finished his career with 96.5 sacks.

Will Shields: 12-time Pro Bowl guard with the Kansas City Chiefs (1993-2006). Started 223 of 224 games and was named to the NFL's All-Decade team of the 2000s.

Michael Strahan: Seven-time Pro Bowl defensive end with the New York Giants (1993-2007). Posted six double-digit sacks seasons, including an NFL single-season record 22.5 in winning the NFL Defensive Player of the Year award in 2001. Finished his career with 141.5 sacks and was named to the NFL's All-Decade team of the 2000s.

Aeneas Williams: Eight-time Pro Bowl cornerback/safety with the Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals (1991-2000) and St. Louis Rams (2001-04). Played cornerback for 12 seasons, earning seven Pro Bowl nods, before switching to safety, where he would add an eighth Pro Bowl selection. Finished his career with 55 interceptions, nine of which were returned for touchdowns.

Outside the Game from Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular content on the Yahoo! network:
Jason Cole: Five most deserving 2013 NFL Hall of Fame finalists
Seton Hall swim team takes free-throw distraction to new level
Katherine Webb, AJ McCarron's girlfriend, may pose for SI swimsuit issue
Y! Finance: Paying off $26,500 in debt in less than two years

What to Read Next