Texas may have gotten away with a fumble to beat Oklahoma State (VIDEO)

If you wanted another officiating controversy on a game-winning touchdown this week, the crew working the Texas-Oklahoma State game was kind enough to provide one.

Texas running back Joe Bergeron stretched across the goal line with 29 seconds left to give the Longhorns the lead, but replays showed something may have been amiss. Bergeron appeared to lose the ball before he crossed the goal line. Oklahoma State safety Daytawion Lowe came out of the pile waving the ball at the officials.

After looking at the replay, officials ruled the play stood as called. On Fox's television broadcast, former NFL vice president of officiating Mike Pereira said one possible reason the play stood was the officials might not have been able to conclude who originally recovered the fumble in the scrum - if Bergeron did fumble. But, Pereira tweeted that he thought Bergeron scored before he lost the ball:

Oklahoma State fans are sure to disagree.

The controversy at the end shouldn't obscure that Texas quarterback David Ash came through with some huge plays on the Longhorns' final drive. He made a clutch 29-yard throw throw on a fourth down and 6 to keep the drive alive, then found Mike Davis for a 32-yard gain to the 5-yard line, a play in which Davis made an acrobatic catch over the Oklahoma State defender.

Two plays later Bergeron scored. At least that's what the official box score says.

- - -
"Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog. And follow Dr. Saturday at its new home on Twitter: @YahooDrSaturday

Fantasy football on Yahoo! Sports:

Other popular content on the Yahoo! network:
Winners and Losers: Georgia freshman backs running wild
NFL referees overwhelmingly approve new contract
Dwight Howard aiming to play in Lakers opener
Y! Finance: Top landlord's holdings about three times size of Rhode Island