Phil Steele, author of preseason college football bible, releases All-America team

Phil Steele's annual college football preview has become the go-to book for serious college football fans, and the unveiling of his All-America team is a sign the season is getting closer.

Steele's All-America team doesn't produce a whole lot of surprises, which is fine. Perhaps one could argue why De'Anthony Thomas is ahead of Ka'Deem Carey or Todd Gurley at running back, or why Cyrus Kouandijo couldn't break into the top two tackles, but as one would imagine he made good selections all around.

Alabama had eight players on Steele's four teams, including four on the first team, which isn't too shocking either for the obvious preseason No. 1. It was a little surprising to see two Western Kentucky players make the list, and congratulations to them. A few other quick thoughts:

• Quarterback is really deep when Oregon's Marcus Mariota and Clemson's Tajh Boyd can't crack the top four. But it's hard to argue with the four on Steele's list, though we'd have Teddy Bridgewater higher.

• Baylor's Lache Seastrunk will finish higher than third team if he stays healthy.

• It's hard to classify Thomas. He had nine games with seven or fewer carries last season, so it's odd to see him at running back ahead of Carey and Todd Gurley. But he's undeniably a great player and a difference maker, so it's hard to argue him being on the first team somewhere.

• Little surprised that Oregon tight end Colt Lyerla didn't make the cut.

• Like quarterback, offensive tackle is really deep when Zack Martin of Notre Dame is on the third team.

• With two Notre Dame defensive linemen making up half of the first-team line, perhaps we understated how great that line was. That's a big reason Manti Te'o got all those tackles.

• Interesting to see TCU's Jason Verrett make the first-team at cornerback over Oklahoma's Aaron Colvin, who would have been a safe choice.

Here's are all four of Steele's preseason All-America teams:


1st Team

2nd Team

3rd Team

4th Team


Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Braxton Miller, Ohio State

A.J. McCarron, Alabama

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville


T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

Todd Gurley, Georgia

Lache Seastrunk, Baylor

Silas Redd, USC


De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon

Ka’Deem Carey, Arizona

Duke Johnson, Miami

Damien Williams, Oklahoma


Marqise Lee, USC

Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

Allen Robinson, Penn State

Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin


Sammy Watkins, Clemson

Cody Hoffman, BYU

Brandin Cooks, Oregon State

Tracy Moore, Oklahoma State


Amari Cooper, Alabama

Mike Evans, Texas A&M

Stefon Diggs, Maryland

Davante Adams, Fresno State


Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington

Arthur Lynch, Georgia

Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin

Eric Ebron, North Carolina


B.J. Finney, Kansas State

Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma

Hroniss Grasu, Oregon

Tyler Larsen, Utah State


David Yankey, Stanford

Gabe Jackson, Mississippi St.

Andrew Norwell, Ohio State

Anthony Steen, Alabama


Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Spencer Long, Nebraska

Xavier Su’a-Filo, UCLA

Tre’ Jackson, Florida State


Taylor Lewan, Michigan

Cyrus Kouandijo, Alabama

Zack Martin, Notre Dame

Morgan Moses, Virginia


Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

Antonio Richardson, Tennessee

James Hurst, North Carolina

Jack Mewhort, Ohio State


1st Team

2nd Team

3rd Team

4th Team


Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

Scott Crichton, Oregon State

Aaron Lynch, USF


Will Sutton, Arizona State

Anthony Johnson, LSU

Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh

Daniel McCullers, Tennessee


Louis Nix, Notre Dame

Timmy Jernigan, Florida State

Dominique Easley, Florida

Roosevelt Nix, Kent State


Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame

Devonte Fields, TCU

Morgan Breslin, USC

Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State


Anthony Barr, UCLA

Chris Borland, Wisconsin

Shayne Skov, Stanford

Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss


C.J. Mosley, Alabama

Trent Murphy, Stanford

A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

Hayes Pullard, USC


Kyle Van Noy, BYU

Max Bullough, Michigan State

Khalil Mack, Buffalo

Andrew Jackson, W. Kentucky


Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

Adrian Hubbard, Alabama

Christian Jones, Florida State

Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut


Bradley Roby, Ohio State

Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State

Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida


Jason Verrett, TCU

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

Quandre Diggs, Texas

Antone Exum, Virginia Tech


Ed Reynolds, Stanford

Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State

Hakeem Smith, Louisville

Marco Nelson, Tulsa


Ha-Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama

Lamarcus Joyner, Florida St.

Craig Loston, LSU

Jordan Richards, Stanford


1st Team

2nd Team

3rd Team

4th Team


Cairo Santos, Tulane

Chris Boswell, Rice

Ross Martin, Duke

Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson


Kyle Christy, Florida

Tommy Hibbard, North Carolina

Kirby Van Der Kamp, Iowa State

Richie Leone, Houston


Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Bernard Reedy, Toledo

Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma St.

Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech


Marcus Murphy, Missouri

Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State

Spiffy Evans, Boston College

Rashad Greene, Florida State


Scott Thompson, N.C. State

Drew Howell, Oregon

Matt Dooley, Indiana

Reid Ferguson, LSU


Dri Archer, Kent State

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky

Venric Mark, Northwestern

- - -

H/T to for the list.

Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday and be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.