Official originally rules UCLA missed field goal good despite being directly under upright (Video)

Dr. Saturday

For the most part, field goal rulings are pretty straightforward. The only time that there's ever a question is when the kick is above the uprights, and moving at an angle.

In the second quarter against Nebraska, Ka'imi Fairbairn's 46-yard field goal attempt was one of those straightforward rulings. Except it wasn't.

Fairbairn's attempt slid off to the right, just outside the upright. As the Nebraska fans behind the goalposts went crazy, the official below the right goalpost simply signaled that it was good and went on with his duties.

Was he blinded by the sun? Did he not look up? The call was immediately reviewed and after replay as overturned. Far and away the correct call, but sorry, that's a judgment that had no reason to go to replay.

Despite the missed field goal, UCLA scored 38 unanswered points to beat Nebraska 41-21.

- - -
Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday or email us. And be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.

What to Read Next