Manti Te’o hauls in lots of awards, but the biggest awards still loom

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o was the happiest person in the room by the time most of college football's major awards had been handed out.

Te'o won the Maxwell Award given to the nation's most outstanding player. He also won the Walter Camp (player of the year), Bednarik (defensive player of the year), Lombardi (best lineman) and Nagurski awards.

It was quite a haul for a player who said staying for his senior season was the best decision he ever made.

But there are still two more awards he covets — the Heisman, which will be presented Saturday, and the BCS National Championship, which will be played on Jan. 7.

On a day when several players were vying to be declared the best at their position, Te'o trumped them all. But Te'o's good fortune Thursday might not translate into a Heisman Trophy win.

Since 2000, only twice has the winner of the Maxwell also won the Heisman Trophy — Tim Tebow in 2007 and Cam Newton in 2010.

Conversely, since 2010, quarterbacks who have won the Davey O'Brien Award, which is given to the nation's best quarterback, have gone on to win the Heisman eight times, including five of the last six years.

That's good news for Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, the freshman phenom who took home the Davey and wowed the nation with his agility and skill during Texas A&M's first season in the SEC.

Here are the awards handed out Thursday evening:

Home Depot (coach of the year): Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
Walter Camp Award (player of the year): Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Maxwell Award (outstanding player): Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Davey O'Brien (best quarterback): Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Doak Walker (best running back): Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Thorpe (best defensive back): Johnathan Banks, Mississippi State
Bednarik (defensive player of the year): Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm (outstanding senior):
Collin Klein, Texas A&M
Biletnikoff (best receiver):
Marqise Lee, USC
John Mackey (best tight end):
Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame
Outland (best interior lineman):
Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
Lombardi (best lineman):
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Rimington Trophy (best center):
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Bronko Nagurski (best defensive player):
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Butkus (best linebacker):
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Ted Hendricks (best defensive end):
Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Lou Groza (best placekicker):
Cairo Santos, Tulane
Ray Guy (best punter):
Ray Allen, La. Tech
Campbell Trophy (top-scholar athlete):
Barrett Jones, Alabama
Broyles (top assistant coach):
Bob Diaco, Notre Dame
Disney Spirit Award (most inspiration player):
Nate Boyer, Texas

- - -
Got a tip for Dr. Saturday? Email us at You can also connect with us via Twitter @YahooDrSaturday and be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.

What to Read Next