Iowa State coach Paul Rhoads sounds off about no-call against Texas

Iowa State coach Paul Rhoads didn’t pull any punches during his postgame news conference following his Cyclones’ 31-30 loss to Texas.

Texas running back Johnathan Gray fumbled near the goal line during the Longhorns' game-winning drive with less than a minute left, but officials ruled his forward progress had stopped. A review of the play confirmed the official’s call.

But TV replays clearly showed Gray had fumbled before his forward progress had stopped and that Iowa State had recovered and essentially won the game.

Scroll to continue with content

Even former Texas A&M athletic director Bill Byrne chimed in on the play on Twitter.

Can’t blame Rhoads for being fired up about this one. The officials got the call wrong and cost the Cyclones a deserved win. Unfortunately, Rhoads will be fined for his comments regarding officials. The officials might – might – get a reprimand by the league office.

- - -
Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.