Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz wins Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

Dr. Saturday

Iowa's undefeated regular season has netted coach Kirk Ferentz the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award.

The award is voted on by the Football Writers Association of America.

“It is rewarding to see the hard work of our entire coaching staff and every member of our football program being recognized on the national level,” Ferentz said in a statement. “I appreciate the acknowledgement of our accomplishments.  I am honored to share this recognition with our staff, our players, and our great fans, and I am grateful to the University of Iowa for providing the necessary support for our success.”

The Hawkeyes went 12-0 and won the Big Ten West. Iowa lost in the Big Ten Championship Game to Michigan State thanks to a late Spartans touchdown to finish the season 12-1. Iowa will play Stanford in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1.

[Check out Dr. Saturday on Tumblr for things you won’t see on the blog]

Ferentz was also named the AP Big Ten Coach of the Year.

TCU coach Gary Patterson won the award in 2014. The Horned Frogs entered the final week of the season at No. 3 in the College Football Playoff rankings and finished No. 6 after Ohio State beat Wisconsin. 2013's winner was Auburn coach Gus Malzahn, who took the Tigers to the BCS Championship Game vs. Florida State.

Ferentz will be presented with the award on Jan. 9 in Scottsdale, Arizona, in advance of the College Football Playoff Championship Game on Jan. 11.

For more Iowa news, visit

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next