Heisman Trophy prediction: Will a favorite win it this year?

Even though we’re all eagerly awaiting college football to open, it’s never to early to start thinking about who might win the postseason awards, especially the Heisman.

The Heisman Trophy, one of the most coveted awards in all of sports, has been nearly impossible to predict each of the past three seasons. The favorites either didn’t live up to the hype or an unknown player with an amazing season surpassed them.

No one saw Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel coming last year. Heck, he spent a June night in jail and wasn’t even the starter heading into fall camp. But an amazing game against Alabama changed all that.

So, who will take home the famed bronze statue and the other coveted postseason awards?

Here are our thoughts:

Heisman Trophy
Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor

You won’t find Lache Seastrunk among the nation’s leading rushers last season. No, he unassumingly sits 71st among 2012 rushers, but don’t let that ranking fool you. There was no better running back at the end of the year than Seastrunk; he just took a little while to get going.

And when he did, it was downright scary.

Seastrunk, who managed just 181 yards during the first seven games of the season, finished with 1,012 for the year and had five 100-yard games in his final six contests (the other was a paltry 91 yards). In his final four games, he had totals of 185, 136, 178 and 138 rushing yards against Kansas State, Texas Tech, Oklahoma State and UCLA respectively. Yes, four bowl teams.

Seastrunk also tallied six of his seven total touchdowns during the final half of the season and had an astonishing 7.7 yards per carry.

Now that Seastrunk has a year under his belt, the expectations are high for the junior and he has all the tools to reach them.

Could Baylor have two Heisman Trophy winners in three seasons? It’s possible.

*As an aside, none of the college football writers at Yahoo! Sports could agree on a Heisman Trophy winner, so I wanted to list their picks here as well.

Pat Forde: T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama
Eric Adelson: Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina
Nick Bromberg: Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State

Doak Walker: Lache Seastrunk, Baylor
Davey O'Brien: Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
Fred Biletnikoff: Marqise Lee, USC
John Mackey: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
Outland: Taylor Lewan, Michigan
Lombardi: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Rimington: B.J. Finney, Kansas State
Butkus: C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Thorpe: Ed Reynolds, Stanford
Groza: Cairo Santos, Tulane
Ray Guy: Kyle Christy

- - -
Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.