Glendale and Tampa selected as College Football Playoff National Championship sites in 2016-17

University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Az. and Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fl. will be the host sites of the College Football Playoff National Championship game in 2016 and 2017.

University of Phoenix Stadium is the home of the Arizona Cardinals and Fiesta Bowl while Raymond James is where the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the University of South Florida play and where the Outback Bowl is held. Previously, AT&T Stadium, home of the Dallas Cowboys and the Cotton Bowl, was announced as the host for the game in 2015. Next year is the first year of college football's four-team playoff system to replace the BCS.

The Rose and Sugar Bowls will serve as semifinals for the game next season. In 2016, the semifinals will be the Orange and Cotton Bowls and in 2017 the games will be the Fiesta and Chick-Fil-A Bowls.

Stadiums also bidding for the 2016 championship were EverBank Field in Jacksonville, the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans and Raymond James. The Alamodome in San Antonio, EverBank Field, Levi's Stadium in San Francisco, Sun Life Stadium in Miami and Vikings Stadium in Minneapolis bid on the 2017 game.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next