Derrick Henry, Deshaun Watson and Christian McCaffrey are Heisman finalists

Heisman finalists were announced Monday evening with Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey making up the small field of finalists.

The last day to vote for the award was Monday.

A quarterback has won the Heisman in each of the last five seasons. The last running back to win the award was Alabama’s Mark Ingram in 2009. Ingram is the only non-quarterback to win the award since Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne in 1999.

Some notable Heisman snubs for this season include Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, a Davey O’Brien finalist, and Navy quarterback Keenan Reynolds, who set the career NCAA rushing record this year.

Here’s a quick look at the Heisman finalists:

Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama: Henry set the SEC and Alabama single-season rushing record with 1,986 yards and the single-season mark with 22 touchdowns. He became the frontrunner of the Heisman race following 38 carries, 210 yards and three touchdowns against LSU and never looked back. In his final two games of the regular season, Henry carried the ball 90 times for 460 yards and two touchdowns. He’s scored at least one touchdown in every game this year.

Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson: Watson is the leader of the No. 1 team in the country and has been nothing short of amazing, especially during the final month of the season. During last week’s win against North Carolina in the ACC title game, Watson passed for 289 yards and three touchdowns and rushed for 131 yards and two scores. This season, he’s completed 69.5 percent of his passes for 3,512 yards, 30 touchdowns and 11 interceptions.

Christian McCaffrey, RB, Stanford: McCaffrey put an exclamation point on his Heisman campaign with 461 all-purpose yards and three touchdowns (one passing, one rushing and one receiving) in the Pac-12 title game against USC. McCaffrey broke Barry Sanders’ 27-year-old record for all-purpose yards during the contest. McCaffrey now has 3,496 all-purpose yards. The next closest player nationally has 2,410.

Who will win the trophy this year? Watch the video below to get Yahoo Sports' Shaun King's pick:

- - - - - - -

Graham Watson is the editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email her at or follow her on Twitter!

And don’t forget to keep up with all of Graham’s thoughts, witty comments and college football discussions on Facebook