College Football Playoff officially announces members and criteria for selection

The 13 members of the College Football Playoff Committee were announced Wednesday and the list didn't include any surprises from the names that had been previously reported.

Arkansas AD Jeff Long will be the head of the committee and will be joined by Wisconsin AD Barry Alvarez, former Air Force Superintendent Lt. General Mike Gould, USC AD Pat Haden, former NCAA VP Tom Jernstedt, West Virginia AD Oliver Luck, former Ole Miss quarterback Archie Manning, former Nebraska coach and AD Tom Osborne, Clemson AD Dan Radakovich, former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, former Big East Commissioner Mike Tranghese, former USA Today writer Steve Wieberg and former Notre Dame, Stanford and Washington head coach Tyrone Willingham.

"We wanted people of the highest integrity for this committee, and we got them. Every one of them has vast football knowledge, excellent judgment, dedication and love for this game," BCS executive director Bill Hancock said in a statement. "They will no doubt have one of the hardest jobs in sports. But their skills and wide variety of experiences -- from coaches and athletes to university leaders and journalists -- will ensure that they will be successful. And they are committed to investing the time and effort necessary for this endeavor. We are grateful that they will be serving this terrific game of college football."

College football's new playoff system is set to begin next season and the committee will meet periodically through the season as well as release in-season rankings beginning during the middle of the season, similar to the BCS.

The committee also released the criteria that it will use to select the four teams that will ultimately comprise the playoff. They include records, strength of schedule, head-to-head results and common opponents. Committee members will also be held to term limits which will be announced at a later date so that there's a constant rotation of members.

The Playoff's first National Championship will be at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. The semifinals will be at the Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl.

- - -
Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.

What to Read Next