Bly, Roaf and Tomlinson join Thomas in 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class

(Getty Images)

LaDainian Tomlinson TCU

(Getty Images)

The College Football Hall of Fame announced its 2014 class Thursday and CB Dre Bly, RB LaDainian Tomlinson and OT Willie Roaf, among others, are joining LB Derrick Thomas in the class.

Thomas, who had 27 sacks at Alabama in 1988, was reported to make the class on Wednesday.

Bly was a two-time All-American at North Carolina from 1996-1998 and had 20 career interceptions. Tomlinson led the nation in rushing in 1999 and 2000 at TCU, where he was a unanimous All-American selection. Roaf was a standout lineman at Louisiana Tech before dominating in the NFL with the New Orleans Saints and Kansas City Chiefs.

Other players that got in were Tony Boselli (USC), Dave Butz (Purdue), Shane Conlan (Penn State), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech), John Huard (Maine), Darrin Nelson (Stanford), John Sciarra (UCLA), Sterling Sharpe (South Carolina), Leonard Smith (McNeese State) and Wesley Walls.

Coaches Mike Bellotti (Oregon) and Jerry Moore (Appalachian State) were also elected. Moore won three national titles at Appalachian State and Bellotti is the winningest coach in Oregon history.

Notable omissions from the 2014 class include Randall Cunningham (UNLV), Eric Dickerson (SMU), Antwaan Randle-El (Indiana), Ricky Williams (Texas) and Ray Lewis (Miami). However, in the cases of WIlliams and Lewis, they weren't eligible for induction this year (despite being on the ballot) because players from their schools were elected in the 2013 class.

Moving forward, the College Football Playoff announced that the selections for the College Football Hall of Fame would also be announced on the Friday before the College Football Playoff National Championship.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next