Auburn’s Gus Malzahn adds to awards haul with 2013 Eddie Robinson Award

Dr. Saturday

Gus Malzahn received another coaching award on Monday.

The Auburn coach was selected as the Football Writer's Association of America Eddie Robinson Award winner, which goes to the national coach of the year. Malzahn's Tigers will face Florida State on Jan. 6 in the BCS Championship game. Last year before Malzahn's arrival, the Tigers were 3-9.

Last week, Malzahn won the Home Depot Coach of the Year award and was also selected the SEC Coach of the Year by the AP.

He's the third first-year coach to win the award. The others are Ralph Friedgen in 2001 at Maryland and Army's Tom Cahill in 1966. The last SEC coach to win the Eddie Robinson Award was Alabama's Nick Saban in 2008.

Malzahn was the offensive coordinator at Auburn when they won the 2011 BCS title against Oregon. He then was the head coach at Arkansas State in 2012 before returning to Auburn as head coach before this season.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next