Arkansas AD Jeff Long named chairman of College Football Playoff selection committee

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long will be the chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee.

The announcement was made Monday in conjunction with the video above and according to ESPN, the rest of the panel will be announced on Wednesday. The selection committee will be responsible for selecting the four teams for college football's playoff system in 2014 that is replacing the BCS.

While the announcement of the rest of the committee's reported 13 members is not official, many of them have been named in various media reports including former United States Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice and Archie Manning. Each major conference is expected to have a member school's athletic director serve on the selection committee.

- - -

Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday and be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.

What to Read Next