Aaron Murray voted by coaches to preseason All-SEC team over Johnny Manziel, AJ McCarron

The quarterback of the coaches' preseason All-SEC team is not the defending Heisman Trophy winner or the signal-caller of the back-to-back national champions.

Instead, it's Georgia's Aaron Murray. Last season as a junior, Murray passed for 3,893 yards and 36 TDs with 10 interceptions.

Perhaps it was offseason fatigue or the the uncertainty surrounding him entering the 2013 (maybe a combination of both?), but Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel was voted to the second team while Alabama's AJ McCarron was voted to the third team. Last season, Manziel ended the year as the first team All-SEC quarterback while McCarron was on the second team. Manziel threw for 3,706 yards and 26 TDs and 9 picks while running for 1410 yards last season as a redshirt freshman. McCarron threw for 2,933 yards and 30 TDs with just 3 interceptions.

After winning the Heisman in 2007, Tim Tebow was the on the preseason All-SEC team in 2008 and 2009.

Alabama has five players on the first team, while Georgia and LSU have three. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players. LSU's Odell Beckham Jr. was listed the first, second and third preseason teams at three different positions. He's on the first team as a returner, second team as an all-purpose player and third team as a wide receiver.

Auburn, Kentucky and Missouri did not have first team selections. Click here to view a list of all three teams. The complete first team is below.

QB: Aaron Murray, Georgia
RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB: T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
WR: Amari Cooper, Alabama
WR: Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
TE: Arthur Lynch, Georgia
OL: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
OL: Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
OL: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
OL: Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
C: Travis Swanson, Arkansas

DL: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
DL: Dominique Easley, Florida
DL: Anthony Johnson, LSU
DL: Chris Smith, Arkansas
LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama
LB: A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
LB: Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss
DB: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
DB: Craig Loston, LSU
DB: Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
DB: Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida

Special Teams
PK: Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
P: Kyle Christy, Florida
RS: Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
AP: Bruce Ellington, South Carolina

- - -
Want to join the conversation? Hit us up on Twitter @YahooDrSaturday and be sure to "Like" Dr. Saturday on Facebook for football conversations and stuff you won't see on the blog.

What to Read Next