How Kansas’ 10 straight Big 12 titles compares to streaks in other sports

Whether it's Blake Griffin's Oklahoma teams, Acie Law's Texas A&M teams or the Texas teams that starred LaMarcus Aldridge, Kevin Durant or D.J. Augustin, the Big 12 has produced some worthy challengers for Kansas over the past decade.

All of them have one thing in common: None managed to dethrone the Jayhawks.

Kansas secured at least a share of its 10th consecutive Big 12 championship on Monday with an 83-75 victory over Oklahoma. The Jayhawks replaced all five starters from last season's Sweet 16 team yet lead arguably the nation's toughest conference by 3.5 games over Texas and Iowa State.

To put into perspective how remarkable an accomplishment Kansas' league title streak is, consider that no other college basketball program currently has won more than three straight conference championships. Below is a look at how the Jayhawks' domination of the Big 12 compares to some of the great runs in college basketball history and in other sports:

Most consecutive league titles in college basketball history: 13 by UCLA (1967-79)

Other college hoops programs who have won 10 or more straight league titles: 11 by Gonzaga (2001-11), 10 by UNLV (1983-92), 10 by Connecticut (1951-60).

Longest current college basketball league title streak besides Kansas: 3 by Belmont, Bucknell, Long Beach State and Harvard

Most consecutive division titles in NBA history: 9 by the Boston Celtics (1957-65) and the Los Angeles Lakers (1982-90)

Longest current NBA division title streak: 3 by the Miami Heat, San Antonio Spurs and Oklahoma City Thunder (2011-13)

Most consecutive division titles in NFL history: 7 by the Los Angeles Rams (1973-79)

Longest current NFL division title streak: 5 by the New England Patriots (2009-13)

Most consecutive division titles in MLB history: 14 by Atlanta Braves (1991-2005)

Longest current MLB division title streak: 3 by the Detroit Tigers (2011-13)

Most consecutive division titles in NHL history: 9 by the Colorado Avalanche (1995-2003)

Longest current NHL division title streak: 5 by the Vancouver Canucks (2009-13)