Spurs to celebrate 2014 NBA title win with Wednesday river parade, downtown celebration

Dan Devine
San Antonio Spurs fans celebrate after the Spurs beat the Miami Heat to win their fifth NBA Championship, in San Antonio
View photos
San Antonio Spurs fans celebrate after the Spurs beat the Miami Heat to win their fifth NBA Championship, in San Antonio, Texas June 16, 2014. REUTERS/Mike Stone
Spurs fans celebrate after San Antonio beat the Miami Heat to win their fifth NBA title. (Reuters/Mike Stone)
View photos
Spurs fans celebrate after San Antonio beat the Miami Heat to win their fifth NBA title. (Reuters/Mike Stone)

The San Antonio Spurs and their fans will celebrate their decisive 2014 NBA Finals victory over the Miami Heat — the fifth championship in franchise history, all coming in the last 15 seasons behind the legendary leadership of star Tim Duncan and head coach Gregg Popovich — with a "river parade community celebration" in downtown San Antonio on Wednesday evening.

If you're not in the San Antonio area, you can watch the stream on Spurs.com, on NBA.com, and at KSAT.com.

According to Spurs.com, the rolling party will kick off at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. Texas time). Barges will carry Spurs players, coaches and team officials, along with former players and coaches and more celebrants, down the San Antonio River before ending at the Convent Street Bridge. Here's a look at the parade route, thanks to the folks at San Antonio CBS affiliate KENS-TV:

The parade route for the Spurs' victory river parade. (Image via KENS5.com)
View photos
The parade route for the Spurs' victory river parade. (Image via KENS5.com)

Fans will be allowed to snag spots on the city's famed River Walk to watch the river parade beginning at 5 p.m. ET (4 p.m. CT), with Arneson River Theater viewing spots available only to folks with special credentials. More information on the parade viewing — including what stuff you can and can't bring to the party (like, for example, booze and coolers) — can be found at the Spurs' site.

After the parade, the team will head into the Alamodome for a special championship ceremony kicking off at 10 p.m. ET (9 p.m. CT). It's free to get in, and you don't need a ticket, but you'll probably want to be there well before the Dome's doors open at 5:30 p.m. ET (4:30 p.m. CT) to snag a spot.

With temperatures in San Antonio expected to reach 94 degrees on Wednesday, city officials are asking those heading to the parade "to come hydrated." (Nobody make any jokes.)

- - - - - - -

Dan Devine is an editor for Ball Don't Lie on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at devine@yahoo-inc.com or follow him on Twitter!

Stay connected with Ball Don't Lie on Twitter @YahooBDL, "Like" BDL on Facebook and follow BDL's Tumblr for year-round NBA talk, jokes and more.