Spurs' Tiago Splitter fined $5,000 for flop during Game 4 loss to Thunder (Video)

The NBA announced Wednesday that San Antonio Spurs power forward Tiago Splitter has been fined $5,000 for violating the league's anti-flopping rules during the Spurs' 105-92 loss to the Oklahoma City Thunder in Game 4 of the Western Conference finals on Tuesday.

The flop in question took place at the 7:30 mark of the second quarter, with the Thunder holding a 34-26 lead and Splitter tasked with guarding Thunder power forward Serge Ibaka:

Well, yeah. That's a pretty clear one. I even thought so at the time:

The refs didn't fall for it, either; no foul was called on the play, and Splitter had to get up and keep defending. The possession ended with a 17-footer by Thunder forward Caron Butler to push Oklahoma City's lead to 10. Splitter finished with just three points, one rebound, one block and one turnover in 19 1/2 minutes in the loss, which tied the best-of-seven series at two games apiece heading back to San Antonio for Thursday's Game 5.

Splitter is the second player to be fined for flopping during the 2013-14 playoffs. Indiana Pacers shooting guard Lance Stephenson got rung up a week ago.

The NBA introduced a system to penalize flopping prior to the 2012-13 regular season. Players receive a warning after committing a first violation, while a second confirmed flop costs $5,000, a third $10,000, a fourth $15,000 and a fifth $30,000. A sixth flop would subject the player "to discipline reasonable under the circumstances, including an increased fine and/or suspension," according to the guidelines.

That hasn't wound up being necessary. Five players (Reggie Evans, Gerald Wallace, J.J. Barea, Kevin Martin and Omer Asik) received $5,000 fines last season, and six (Stephenson, James Harden, Corey Brewer, Mario Chalmers, Brandon Jennings and P.J. Tucker) took the $5,000 hit this regular season.

The NBA also introduced increased postseason penalties before the 2012-13 postseason, eliminating the first-flop warning and levying a $5,000 fine after the first violation. Eight players were penalized last postseason: Thunder guard Derek Fisher, then-Pacers big man Jeff Pendergraph (now called Jeff Ayres with the Spurs), New York Knicks guard J.R. Smith, Memphis Grizzlies guard Tony Allen, Stephenson, LeBron James and David West, and Chris Bosh.

Vine via @cjzero.

- - - - - - -

Dan Devine is an editor for Ball Don't Lie on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at devine@yahoo-inc.com or follow him on Twitter!

Stay connected with Ball Don't Lie on Twitter @YahooBDL, "Like" BDL on Facebook and follow BDL's Tumblr for year-round NBA talk, jokes and more.