Voting for Sprint Unlimited format opens as first day of Preseason Thunder washed out

Fans can once again vote for facets of the Sprint Unlimited exhibition race.

The race takes place on Saturday, Feb. 15 and features pole-winners from the previous season. There are three different questions that fans can vote on at the Sprint Unlimited site and if you vote through NASCAR Mobile, the sport's official mobile app, your vote counts twice. It's like a Chicago election.

Here are your choices:

Race Format (All options are three segments): 30 laps/35 laps/10 laps, 30/30/15, 30/25/ 2o

Starting Order: Most Career Poles, 2013 Points Standings, Final Practice Speeds

Restart Order for Final Segment: Fastest Lap through the first two segments, Most laps led, Mandatory Pit Stop

The drivers eligible for the race are:

- Marcos Ambrose
- Kurt Busch
- Kyle Busch
- Dale Earnhardt Jr.
- Carl Edwards
- Jeff Gordon
- Denny Hamlin
- Kevin Harvick
- Brad Keselowski
- Jimmie Johnson
- Matt Kenseth
- Terry Labonte
- Joey Logano
- Mark Martin
- Jamie McMurray
- Ryan Newman
- Danica Patrick
- Ken Schrader
- Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
- Tony Stewart

Preseason Thunder, the annual testing session at Daytona that is scheduled for Thursday and Friday was rained out Thursday, which means that Rusty Wallace didn't get a chance to drive the No. 2. Friday's session is scheduled to start at 9 a.m. ET.

How are you going to vote for the Unlimited? We'd choose the 30/25/20 lap format, most career poles and most laps led. Fastest lap would be like a roulette wheel in the draft and laps led would hopefully be a carrot for drivers to be at the front in the first two segments.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the assistant editor of Dr. Saturday on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next