Turner Motorsports changes name to Turner Scott Motorsports

The biggest Nationwide and Truck Series only team is getting a revised name.

Minority owner Harry Scott has expanded his role in Turner Motorsports, and the new team will be called Turner Scott Motorsports. The team announced the change on Friday.

“Harry becoming a co-owner is very positive for this organization as a whole,” Steve Turner said in a release. “This team has grown and accomplished so much in the last few years, and it is still continuing to grow. Harry has been committed to our racing program, its drivers and our sponsors for several years, and he is a vital part of our organization. He is passionate about our sport and our employees, and has proven himself as a very successful businessman, so putting him in charge of our marketing and business efforts is a natural and perfect fit. We have always considered him to be an integral part of the Turner Motorsports family, and this is an opportunity for him to formally take over some of the reins as we continue to build this organization into one of the most successful teams in NASCAR. I am very optimistic that Turner Scott Motorsports will build upon our solid base and achieve continued success.”

Scott was a minority owner at Braun Racing when Turner puchased the assets of Braun Racing in 2010 and renamed it Turner Motorsports.

Turner won the 2012 Camping World Truck Series title with James Buescher and earlier in the week Buescher announced that he would be returning to the series to defend his title. The team also announced a sponsorship deal with Rheem that will see the company sponsor Buescher for 15 Truck Series races in 2013. Rheem last sponsored the Richard Childress Racing truck that Cale Gale drove to victory lane in the final Truck Series race of 2012.

Buescher also won the season opening race at Daytona in the Nationwide Series for Turner after a last turn crash took out the leaders. On Wednesday, Kasey Kahne and Brad Sweet and sponsor Great Clips moved to JR Motorsports in 2013 while, in turn, a report linked Danica Patrick to Turner for her 10 Nationwide Races this season. According to Fox Sports, the team is expected to field entries in either the Truck or Nationwide Series for Miguel Paludo, Jeb Burton and Justin Allgaier in addition to Buescher

What to Read Next