Sebastian Vettel becomes youngest Formula 1 champ

Sebastian Vettel won the 2010 Formula 1 title by winning the season's final race at the gorgeous Abu Dhabi circuit from the pole.

Vettel and Red Bull Renault teammate Mark Webber were involved in a team orders scandal earler in the season, but there were no team orders at Abu Dhabi, as Vettel entered the race third in the points, while Webber was second, seven ahead of Vettel.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso came into the race leading the points, but was only able to finish seventh after falling back throughout the race. Webber finished just behind in eighth.

Vettel, 23, dominated the race and ended up four points ahead of Alonso, who finished second in the points. Sunday's race was the first time that Vettel had ever led the points standings.

Had Alonso gotten past the two cars in front of him in the final laps -- the Renaults of Vitaly Petrov and Robert Kubica -- he would have ended up tied with Vettel and the tiebreaker would have gone all the way to fourth place finishes, as he and Vettel had the same number of first, seconds and thirds. (Vettel also broke or had problems while leading three different times in 2010)

What to Read Next