Martin Truex, Jr. draws pole for Budweiser Shootout

Martin Truex, Jr. drew the pole for Saturday night's Budweiser Shootout exhibition race at Daytona.

Starting spots for the race were determined as the 25 drivers entered for the race each picked a beer bottle with a starting position on the inside of the label, a concept greater than the execution. The draw, while a great idea for an exhibition race, is generally only slightly more entertaining than standard restrictor plate qualifying. (And that may be debatable.)

During practice for the first race, a multi-car incident happened involving Tony Stewart, Kurt Busch, AJ Allmendinger and more.

Kyle Busch starts alongside Truex for the 75 lap, 150 mile race. The rest of the starting lineup is below. Race coverage starts at 8 PM ET on Fox.

1. Martin Truex Jr., Toyota
2. Kyle Busch, Toyota
3. Brad Keselowski, Dodge
4. Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet
5. David Ragan, Ford
6. Kurt Busch, Chevrolet
7. Greg Biffle, Ford
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet
9. AJ Allmendinger, Dodge
10. Joey Logano, Toyota
11. Carl Edwards, Ford
12. Jeff Burton, Chevrolet
13. Ryan Newman, Chevrolet
14. Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet
15. Tony Stewart, Chevrolet
16. Denny Hamlin, Toyota
17. Clint Bowyer, Toyota
18. Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet
19. Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet
20. Michael Waltrip, Toyota
21. Marcos Ambrose, Ford
22. Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet
23. Matt Kenseth, Ford
24. Paul Menard, Chevrolet
25. Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet

What to Read Next