Kurt Busch signs with Stewart-Haas Racing to drive fourth car in 2014

The possibility of Kurt Busch, Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick and Danica Patrick on the same Sprint Cup team is becoming a reality.

Kurt Busch has signed with Stewart-Haas Racing for the 2014 season and beyond. Busch told Fox Sports' Lee Spencer that "I've inked my deal."

News broke last week that SHR had extended an offer to Busch, and it didn't take the 2004 Cup champ long to decide. Busch is driving for Furniture Row Racing this season after driving most of last season for Phoenix Racing after his departure from Penske Racing.

It's quite the turnaround for the mercurial Busch, who had left Penske under ignominious circumstances after berating an ESPN reporter during the 2011 season finale at Homestead. He was also suspended for a race last season after threatening a reporter at Dover.

This season at Furniture Row, Busch has been on his best behavior and he's exceeded expectations. He's 13th in Sprint Cup standings and was in the top 10 before a bad wheel hub at Bristol ruined his race.

Earlier reports have said that sponsorship for Busch will come from Haas Automation, the company that co-owner Gene Haas owns. Previously, SHR said that it wouldn't expand to four teams after Ryan Newman's departure was announced, but Haas wanted to bring Busch into the fold and was willing to put his own company on the car.

With Busch in the fold at SHR, the four-car team will be a fascinating watch next season. Busch and Stewart had a run-in at Richmond earlier in the season after late race contact and Harvick and Busch's brother Kyle aren't the best of friends. Add in Patrick and the attention that comes from being the only female driver in the Sprint Cup Series and you've got one intriguing recipe.

We do have one request for Busch moving forward. Please drop the self-placed "Outlaw" nickname. When you're driving for a team that employs Hendrick equipment, you're no longer an Outlaw. You're a member of an establishment that will supply stuff for all but three active Sprint Cup Series champions next season.

What to Read Next