Ed Carpenter wins second consecutive Indianapolis 500 pole; Kurt Busch 12th

Ed Carpenter wins second consecutive Indianapolis 500 pole; Kurt Busch 12th

Ed Carpenter is starting first in the Indianapolis 500 again.

The last qualifier during Sunday's pole qualifying session at Indianapolis, Carpenter snatched the pole from James Hinchcliffe with his four-lap run of 231.067 MPH.

Carpenter started on the pole in the 2013 Indianapolis 500 and finished 10th.

After suffering a concussion in last week's Grand Prix of Indianapolis, Hinchcliffe's Indy 500 was in doubt. However, he was cleared by IndyCar doctors earlier in the week and was able to practice the car before qualifying began.

The top nine qualifiers from Saturday's qualifying session were eligible for the pole on Sunday. Kurt Busch was 10th Saturday, so he was forced to run again and was unable to improve his position. After Sunday's run, Busch will start 12th. Juan Pablo Montoya, in his first Indianapolis 500 since he won in 2000, was the fastest of the non-top nine qualifiers. He'll start 10th.

Busch left Saturday's qualifying session early to get back to Charlotte for the Sprint Cup Series Sprint All-Star Race and only made one attempt. After running the All-Star Race last night, Busch returned to Indianapolis Sunday morning.

After Carpenter and Hinchcliffe, Will Power completes the front row. Helio Castroneves will start fourth and Simon Pagenaud, the winner of the Indy GP, starts fifth.

33 cars attempted to qualify for the race, so no one will miss the show.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the editor of From The Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at nickbromberg@yahoo.com or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next