Bill Elliott and Terry Labonte lead class of nominees for 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame class

Thanks to the new eligibility rules for the NASCAR Hall of Fame, Terry Labonte and Bill Elliott were eligible for inclusion on the 2015 ballot. And on Friday, NASCAR announced that the two drivers are among the 20 nominees for the 2015 induction class.

The class of 20 nominees is as follows:

Buddy Baker
Red Byron
Richard Childress
Jerry Cook
Bill Elliott
Ray Fox
Rick Hendrick
Bobby Isaac
Terry Labonte
Fred Lorenzen
Raymond Parks
Benny Parsons
Larry Phillips
Wendell Scott
Bruton Smith
Mike Stefanik
Curtis Turner
Joe Weatherly
Rex White
Robert Yates

Baker, Stefanik and Yates are also on the list for the first time in addition to Labonte and Elliott. Clay Earles, Anne B. France, Les Richter, T. Wayne Robertson and Ralph Seagraves were previously on the ballot but not on it this year. Previous ballots had 25 nominees.

Mark Martin would have been eligible for the Hall of Fame this year, but he didn't make it as well. Drivers who had driven for 10 years and retired for three were eligible, or if the driver was 55 or over or had been in NASCAR 30 or more years at the time of the nomination process, he was immediately eligible.

- - - - - - -

Nick Bromberg is the editor of From The Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next