A closer look at Anderson Silva’s now-broken win streak

Maggie Hendricks

When Chris Weidman knocked out Anderson Silva, a dominant win streak came to an end.

-- Silva won the UFC championship from Rich Franklin at UFC 64 on October 14, 2006. Silva's championship reign was 2,458 days long. In other words, it was 58,992 hours, or 3,549,520 minutes.

-- During the time Silva held the belt, 26 other fighters held a UFC championship. This includes fighters who aren't fighting in the UFC any longer, including Quinton "Rampage" Jackson and Brock Lesnar.

-- His win streak started on April 22, 2006 with a knockout of Tony Fryklund at Cage Rage. At that time, George Bush was the president of the U.S., iPads didn't exist yet, and "The Sopranos" was still on the air.

-- During that 17-fight win streak, he won 12 fights by knockout or TKO wins, had three submissions, and just two decisions. Most of his wins happened in the first or second rounds. Only the two decisions and the late submission of Chael Sonnen at UFC 117 happened in the fifth round.

-- While with the UFC, Silva won 12 fight night bonuses. It breaks down to seven knockouts of the night, three fights of the night, and two submissions of the night.

What to Read Next