Dustin Pedroia isn't the littlest MVP, in case you were wondering

Most sources list Boston's Dustin Pedroia as being 5-foot-9, and those who have seen him up close would call that "generous." A good, if unscientific rule of thumb (or foot) is to subtract about 2 inches from whatever it says on the back of a player's baseball card for his actual height.

That could make him 5-7, which would make the tales stand even taller for Pedroia, who was named this season's AL MVP.

Minnesota's Justin Morneau, who won the AL MVP in 2006, finished second this time in scattered voting that had five different players pick up at least one first-place vote. Kevin Youkilis, Pedroia's taller and balder teammate, finished third.

Red Sox Nation fawned over Pedroia like he was a puppy, albeit a ferocious one that would bite your ankles to win. So much sock — 54 doubles, 17 homers — coming in such a small package.

Sorry to disappoint everyone out there fighting for the Little Guy, but Pedroia ain't such a runt.

Pedroia is the first AL MVP to regularly play second base since Hall of Famer Nellie Fox (5-9, 150) in 1959. So, is Pedroia, listed at 180 pounds, the littlest MVP in either league since Fox? Scoff!

Jimmy Rollins (5-8, 160) won the NL MVP in 2007. And he slugged .531 to Pedroia's .493.

Pedroia, according to a body mass index calculator, actually is overweight for someone listed at 5-foot-9 (shrug). But when it comes to baseball's best mighty mites, Pedroia comes up a little short. Or maybe it's not short enough.

Here, thanks to Baseball-Reference.com and other sources is a list of the littlest MVPs of all time:

Li'l MVP (team): Height, Weight

Johnny Evers (1914 Braves): 5-9, 125

Bobby Shantz (1952 Athletics): 5-6, 142

Phil Rizzuto (1950 Yankees): 5-6, 160

George Burns (1926 Indians): 5-7, 160

Joe Morgan (1975, '76 Reds): 5-7, 160

Paul Waner (1927 Pirates): 5-8, 153

Fox ('59 White Sox): 5-9, 150

Rollins ('07 Phillies): 5-8, 160

Ichiro Suzuki (2001 Mariners): 5-9, 160

Zoilo Versalles (1965 Twins): 5-10, 150

Roger Peckinpaugh (1925 Senators): 5-10, 164

Maury Wills (1962 Dodgers): 5-11, 170

George Sisler (1922 Browns): 5-11, 170

Eddie Collins (1914 Athletics): 5-9, 175

Terry Pendleton (1991 Braves) 5-9, 180

Pedroia ('08 Red Sox) 5-9, 180

Joe Gordon (1942 Yankees) 5-10, 180

Yogi Berra (1951, '54, '55 Yankees) 5-8, 194

What to Read Next